Reviewing Administrative And Criminal Penalties With A DUI Lawyer In Hattiesburg, MS

Mississippi drivers face criminal and administrative penalties for DUI charges. These drivers are guilty of the infraction with a blood-alcohol content reading of 0.08 percent. Underage drivers are guilty with a reading of 0.02 percent. A DUI Lawyer in Hattiesburg MS helps these drivers fight a conviction.

Reviewing the DUI Penalties

The administrative penalties for a first offense are a ninety-day license suspension and a $175 fee for reinstatement. Drivers who receive a restricted driver’s license must install an ignition interlocking device. They must get a SR-22 insurance certificate for at least three years.

The criminal penalty for this infraction is a fine ranging between $250 and $1,000. They spend forty-eight hours in the county jail. They must pay an additional $50 to acquire a restricted driver’s license. A DUI Lawyer helps a first-time offender avoid a conviction. The attorney could also help offenders without a previous record acquire lesser penalties. Plea bargains are available to first-time offenders in Mississippi.

Second Offense DUI Penalties

The administrative penalties for a second offense are similar to a first offense with exception to the suspension. The driver’s license suspension is increased to two years for this offense. However, the criminal penalties increase drastically. The minimum fine is $600. The defendant could spend between one and five years in the county jail. They must complete at least ten days community service. They could also lose ownership of their vehicle.

Third Convictions and Beyond

A third conviction incurs an administrative penalty increase to a five-year license suspension. The criminal penalty starts with a fine ranging between $2,000 and $5,000. The defendant faces between one and five years in prison. They also forfeit ownership of the vehicle. These charges are classified as a felony.

All Mississippi drivers who drive drunk give law enforcement the right to test them. They cannot avoid chemical testing after an arrest. They must submit to testing at the scene or undergo testing after the booking process. The total number of previous convictions affect the penalties applied to their case. Click for info.

Be the first to like.

Be Sociable, Share!
    Shares
    Share This